The University of Novi Sad was founded on June 28, 1960 and it is the only state university in the Autonomous Province of Vojvodina, comprising nowadays 14 faculties and 2 research and developmental institutes. The seats of nine faculties and both of the institutes are in Novi Sad, three faculties are located in Subotica, one in Zrenjanin and one in Sombor. The scientific and research activities of the University are realized through fundamental, applied and developmental research in the field of natural, technical, social, humanistic and medical sciences, as well as through research activities in the field of arts. Currently there are more than 400 on-going scientific, research and other projects, out of which 8 FP6 projects, 7 FP7 projects, 5 EUREKA projects, 15 COST projects and 1 SCOPES project. Apart from these activities, there is a significant number of other projects realized at the University, most of them being TEMPUS projects aiming at restructuring and reforming the higher education process and programs at the University. Currently there is a total number of 30 on-going TEMPUS projects.

The UNS has become recognized as a reform-oriented university, developing intensively international cooperation with universities and other institutions in the area of higher education, scientific and research activities from Europe and the world, as well as through certain number of mobility programs (Campus Europae, Erasmus Mundus Action 2, WUS Austria, FORЕCAST etc). Due to its reputation as one of the leading University in Serbia, Prof. Dr. Miroslav Vesković, Rector of the University of Novi Sad, has been given a leading role for the priority area 7 within EUSDR (EU Strategy for the Danube Region) To Develop the Knowledge Society through Research, Education and Information Technologies, which will be coordinated jointly with Slovak Academy of Sciences.


Suncica Zdravkovic [email]
Univerzitet u Novom Sadu
Trg Dositeja Obradovića 5
21000 Novi Sad, Serbia
Tel: +381 21 485 2037